Indian Olympic Association Executive Council holds first meeting

Image credit: The Bridge

The executive council’s inaugural meeting was attended by members of the Indian Olympics Association (IOA), who discussed various issues about the 2024 Summer Olympics in Paris.

On Tuesday, the news was announced on the IOA’s official Twitter account.

“The inaugural Executive Council Meeting (ECM) was attended by IOA members on December 26, 2022, in New Delhi. Team India stated, “President P.T. Usha welcomed the new IOA Executive Committee members and discussed different issues about the Paris Olympics 2024.”

The illustrious Indian athlete PT Usha was unanimously elected earlier this month to serve as the first female president of the Indian Olympic Association (IOA).

The election of PT Usha puts an end to a protracted crisis in the divided IOA, which had been threatened with suspension by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) if elections were not held this month.

The senior vice president was overwhelmingly chosen to be Ajay Patel of the National Rifle Association of India (NRAI). Rajlaxmi Singh Deo, president of the Rowing Federation of India, and Olympic medalist shooter Gagan Narang were chosen as vice presidents.

Sahdev Yadav, the IWF’s president, was chosen to serve as treasurer. Former goalkeeper and All India Football Federation (AIFF) president Kalyan Chaubey won the joint secretary election without opposition (male).

Shalini Thakur Chawla and Suman Kaushik were beaten out by Alaknanda Ashok of the Badminton Association of India (BAI) for the position of joint secretary.

Yogeshwar Dutt, an Olympic gold medalist in wrestling, and Dola Banerjee, a female archer, are the eight Sportspersons of Outstanding Merit’s male and female representatives on the executive council (SOM).

As president and vice president of the Athletes Commission, respectively, legendary boxer MC Mary Kom and seasoned table tennis star Achanta Sharath Kamal both serve on the executive council.

Additionally chosen for the executive council were Bhupender Singh Bajwa, Amitabh Sharma, Harpal Singh, and Rohit Rajpal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *