Andhra Pradesh’s new capital will be Visakhapatnam

Andhra Pradesh will have Visakhapatnam as its capital, according to Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy, despite the High Court’s ruling from a year ago that it cannot pass legislation for that. The other two capitals are Kurnool and the current capital, Amaravati.

As a result of an appeal by Mr. Reddy’s YSRCP party, the issue is still pending before the Supreme Court.

When promoting an investment conference that would be hosted in Visakhapatnam, Mr. Reddy made the claim about the coastal region. He has continuously favoured it as the executive capital. Previously, he stated that he would start there and work his way out.

Hyderabad became the capital of Telangana when it split off from Andhra Pradesh in 2014.

The state intended to have three capital cities in 2020: Visakhapatnam for the executive branch, Amaravati for the legislative branch, and Kurnool for the judicial branch.

Amaravati officially maintained its status as the capital after that legislation was eventually removed. Amaravati is the site of an alleged land scam, for which Mr. Reddy’s party, the YSRCP, has called for an investigation against Mr. Naidu, the former chief minister.

According to Mr. Reddy’s party, some individuals who were informed beforehand where the new capital would be located bought properties there in anticipation of a future economic boom. The state administration said in a submission to the Center that such individuals purchased more than 4,000 acres in 2014.

However, N Chandrababu Naidu questioned why the YSRCP administration was selling off the property it had initially purchased from farmers to establish a new capital while claiming any misconduct. The Head of Opposition specifically criticised the “AP Capital Region Development” Authority’s choice to rent the apartment buildings to government workers and private companies a few months ago.

The port city of Visakhapatnam, frequently abbreviated as Vizag, is Andhra Pradesh’s biggest and most populous city and was chosen as the state’s capital by Chief Minister Jagan Reddy. It is India’s “second-largest city” on the country’s east coast, alongside Chennai, the state’s capital.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *